Service Area

Central Basin Municipal Water District serves a population of 1.7 million people living within 24 cities in southeast Los Angeles County as well as unincorporated County areas. We do so by partnering with 40 retail water providers and one water wholesaler. Central Basin’s 227 square-mile service area is governed by eight directors, five of which are publicly elected and three of which are appointed by water purveyors from the service area.  

District headquarters is located at 6252 Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040-2512; telephone (323) 201-5500; fax (323) 201-5550.

Please visit the California Special Districts Association for an online map of the independent special districts in California.

Division Boundaries

Division I:

Bell Gardens, Downey, Montebello, Pico Rivera, West Whittier-Los Nietos, and unincorporated
areas of Los Angeles County

Division II:

La Habra Heights, La Mirada, Norwalk, Santa Fe Springs, Whittier and South Whittier

Division III:

Bell, Commerce, Cudahy, Huntington Park, Maywood, Walnut Park,
Vernon, portions of Monterey Park, and unincorporated areas of East Los Angeles

Division IV:

Lynwood, South Gate, Florence-Graham, Willowbrook, and portions of Compton and Carson

Division V:

Artesia, Bellflower, Cerritos, Hawaiian Gardens, Lakewood, Paramount and Signal Hill

Municipal Service Review (MSR) and Sphere of Influence (SOI)

The Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) is required to review services for all agencies and special districts within Los Angeles County whose boundaries are within LAFCO’s jurisdiction. For more information, please visit: